Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

An Update

4 Comments

This has not been an easy time. Rainy has been very sick and I have gotten no more than a few hours sleep a night since Wednesday. Thursday and Friday was spent trying to manage her pain while trying to manage her nausea. She was vomiting every few hours. I could not get any antibiotics in her, no water nor food and no pain meds. I had a liquid form of pain meds but they just seem to make her more ill. Her doctor went away for Thanksgiving and I knew he was coming back on Saturday. I had his cell phone but I refrained from using it until Saturday morning.  I finally called yesterday and he had his assistant give Rainy an injection for nausea. By evening time Rainy could no longer even lift her head and her breathing was very rapid.  All I could do was pray.

Rainy and her friend Prissy

So I practiced Reiki on her and prayed and then my phone rang and it was Dr. Denny. He wanted to see Rainy and would meet me in his office. It was about 8 o’clock at night. We rushed her in and after giving her a thorough once over decided she was severely dehydrated and needed fluids. As he examined her he determined she had pancreatitis.  I found two great sites on pancreatitis

1)  http://pets.webmd.com

2) http://vetmedicine.about.com

The vet wasn’t surprised at this at all. He said she has been fighting a severe infection for a month, plus the surgery and anesthesia, then all the antibiotics and pain meds have more or less brought her system to a toxic level which stressed her pancreas out. In short the symptoms include vomiting, painful stomach (you will often see your dog sitting with their stomach tucked in and their head hanging low as if praying), dehydration, shock, diarrhea, loss of appetite etc..

Rainy had all of the above except diarrhea….she hadn’t eaten enough for that to hit her. So the vet got her going on an IV. She just laid her head on my shoulder and looked away while he preformed the task. She never once complained. While he was getting these fluids in her he gave her a couple of doses of antibiotics and glucose. He left the catheter in her leg because he wants to do the same today. She was a a different dog when she walked out (we had to all but carry her in and she is no lightweight). We got her home expecting she would really have to pee…she didn’t have to do that until 1:30 in the morning….that is a profound indicator as to how dehydrated she was. She ate a whole small can of special food and slept.

I am so grateful to men like Dr. Denny for taking time from his holiday and his evening to take care of my girl (as well as an overweight pug that ruptured a disc). I will continue to update you on Rainy’s progress. For now she is improving and resting.

Reiki written in Shinjitai Japanese.

Reiki written in Shinjitai Japanese. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Reiki for Animals

www.healingforanimals.com

www.reiki-for-holistic-health.com

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

4 thoughts on “An Update

  1. I want to apologize for not having the links working properly. I honestly do not know what to do to fix that so if anyone feels like enlightening me I would be extremely grateful

  2. Never mind….I figured it out after finding where to ask for it

  3. I send you all my best wishes for Rainy’s recovery. I’m glad to read she is improved now and I’m really happy about your vet – thats more than commentable to be on your side during the holiday. If we can do something, please let us know… the links are working, if you want a link directly to “pancreatitis – you can copy the whole line of your browser and embedding it via WP.

  4. Thank you Easy….I am new to blogging on this level but what fun I am having at learning. Rainy is not doing as well this morning but hopes are high

Leave a Reply

