Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Slightly Accidental….

Leave a comment

I have told you how I came to know Rainy. She had a rough time at the beginning of our relationship to say the least. Needless to say whenever we pull into the parking lot of the vet she plants her feet in the parking lot and I have to coax and beg her to come inside the building and its a fight from the beginning until we leave with a great sigh of relief. She has not forgotten her time there and has no desire to repeat the experience.

Rainy has a great lust for life and  just bounces along never thinking what disaster may befall her next where as I am wary of every shadow lurking around every corner. Just a few days before our great exodus from Utah to California one such disaster  came our way. My husband Ron had to go to the store and of course Rainy just had to go. When they came back it had just turned dark but not dark enough for her to miss the mischief Sissy (our neighbors cat) had in mind on our property. As Ron opened the truck door Rainy bounded out the door to give chase to Sissy. He came in the house to put away the few items he had gotten in the store when Rainy came back dazed and confused. He looked down and noticed the skin that had at one time covered her right front leg was peeled back and folded upon itself. I freaked out and immediately lifted the skin up and over the exposed muscle and wrapped it up then we threw her in the car and raced off to the vet. Luckily for us he has his practice in an attached building to his house. He met us in his office after I pounded on his front door and got to work mending Rainy. He gave her a shot of sedative then once he felt that had taken effect he cleaned the exposed flesh then pulled the skin up where it should be and proceeded to use 23 staples to put her back together. This solidified the evilness that was the vet in her mind. I took the antibiotics and the receipt while Ron lifted Rainy into the truck. She was so relieved to have survived another trip to the vet and could not get home fast enough.  We moved our family to the island and after a few days when the swelling seemed such a problem Rainy and I introduced ourselves to the island vet, Dr. Denny, who is probably one of the best vets I have ever known and I have known quite a few. He recommended that we keep the staples in as long as we could and also suggested I pack her wounds with a poultice made of sugar. Yes….you read right. He said nothing works better. Take regular granulated sugar, wet it until it was a goopy mess in your palm then pack the wounds with it and wrap it up. The sugar had two great ways of helping. 1) it pierced the call wall of bacteria drawing all the fluids out of its single celled body which killed it and 2) it forced Rainy’s blood to the site of the wound where by it accelerated the healing process. I was amazed at how well it worked and in a few days her staples were safe to remove. There were hardly any scars left and life went on as if this horrible incident never happened.  Now you can take away two things from my story:

1) Beware of barb wire

2) Pack any wound with sugar to kill bacteria and speed healing

We have just come back from a trip to our home in Moab Utah and Santa Barbara. We left my mother in the care of her nurse, Jojo and we took our Rainy Day with us. The first few days we stayed in Moab while Ron did some things to our house to winterize it we then drove to Salt Lake City to visit his children. The morning we planned on taking off to Santa Barbara to visit my uncle Eric the starter in our van had to be replaced. That morning I took Rainy out to the field next to our hotel and played “stick” which is just about one of our most favorite games. We had been playing for a while without incident when all of a sudden disaster hit us hard. I threw the stick, Rainy went after it and when it landed she went down to pick it up when she reared back screaming her head off and then took off for the hotel. I got her in the hotel room and I could see her mouth was bleeding. Ron held her while I took a peek and I could see two long gashes at the back of her throat. The only thing I could deduce from this was that she had stepped on the stick right as she bent down to get it with her mouth when it shifted and it went right down her throat. We loaded her up with baby aspirin and comforted her as best we could. The next day we took off for Santa Barbara and as the day progressed her face began to swell and she drooled uncontrollably from the left side of her mouth. She was having a hard time swallowing and was in pain. We got into Santa Barbara in time for dinner at my uncles where we brought in Rainy to meet everyone. Needless to say everyone was very worried about her and my uncle gave me the number to his vet. I called first thing the next morning and went right in. After taking xrays they noticed her tongue was severely bruised and there were lacerations under her tongue as well as the lacerations down her throat. They were concerned she had a ruptured salivary gland which took the talents of a skilled surgeon to fix and referred us to several that worked in the Santa Barbara area. So we postponed our trip back home and carted Rainy off to a skilled surgeon. The next day Rainy went under anesthesia while they used an endoscope to a make a more thorough inspection and after it was all said and done they determined her salivary gland  was intact however she did have quite a bit of damage to her throat and needed antibiotics and pain relievers. We finally got Rainy home to the island and all seemed well until a few days had gone by where the swelling seemed to kick in  again and wearing her heart on her sleeve as she is wont to do we realized she was in pain again and was not feeling well at all so off to the vet we went again. Dr. Denny palpitated her throat and was very concerned. He recommended once again she be sedated while he took his own endoscope and took a peek. He also took more xrays. He determined she had a fracture in one of the bones that surrounded her larynx and he also came upon a huge pocket of infection that he cleaned out and put a stitch in. So once again we took her home with even more antibiotics and even more pain relievers that included an anti-inflammatory. He was concerned about the infection (a cellulitis) and cautioned us to finish both of the antibiotics and to keep putting hot packs on that pocket of infection while massaging it. He said this would help draw blood up to the infected area and in doing so would speed healing. On top of all the hot packs 2-3x daily I also added my own personal touch of Reiki which not only soothed her tremendously but also aided in healing. I am pleased to announce that Rainy is doing very well and is making a speedy recovery. We will get the final word from her vet this week but she is back  to all her old tricks.

This just shows you how there is literally danger lurking in every corner and one can never protect their dog against everything. I could never have guessed a simple game of stick could lead to so much worry and so much money. That last game of stick has cost us a couple of thousand but I would pay that ten times over if it meant Rainy would be here for many years to come. Its ironic that even though Ron and I have learned a great deal about the various things that Rainy has “accidentally” discovered she has learned absolutely nothing except to reaffirm that vets are bad. Everyday she solicits us for a game of stick and he and I both hesitate. Of course the ritual of stick will continue but it will never be the relaxing game of fun it once for us. I will forever be suspicious of every benign stick I see and I will continue to pray with each stick thrown. I have no idea what to tell you about the dangers of stick except to say…..be ever ready for you just never know.

Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

