Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Why Me?

2 Comments

After thinking about what I like to write about the most my wonderful dog came into my study and laid her head in my lap as she is often want to do (its getting close to dinner time and then a walk) and it occurred to me one of the things my husband and I talk about the most and what makes us laugh the most is our wonderful Weimaraner Rainy Day. It is amazing how much of our day revolves around our beautiful girl. And the power she has over my husband is uncanny. I often wonder if I were to just look at him with my eyes pleadingly would I get my way as she always does? Probably not.

This post is about how I came to have this wonderful girl in my life.

I was a groomer in Moab, Utah. I had just had a couple of really tragic things happen to me. I had lost my horse Elliot. He just jumped a fence and landed dead and he was only 6 years old. I was devastated to say the least. That was in September 2009. In October 2009 I had to put my beloved Rottweiler, Alexandra the Greatest down. I had to have her knees replaced when she was 2 with titanium and it gave me four extra years. She was more family to me then anyone and I found myself all alone. I was nearing the end of a divorce and was seeing a wonderful man that later became my husband (almost a year now). Ron had bought a house and we were remodeling it when Jamie, the animal control officer, brought in this sad, sad Weimaraner for me to clean up. I donated my time to the animal shelter there where I would clean up the dogs that were brought in to make them more adoptable. She began telling me this poor dogs story and before I knew it I was running down to sign her adoption papers. Ron had a fit as we had no house as of yet (ours was in shambles) but Jamie agreed to foster her until we could have our place ready.

Two nights after I signed the paperwork on Rainy and decided on her name Jamie came screeching past the house we were at remodeling and said “Rainy won’t lift her head…..meet me at the vet!!” She took off and I ran to my car and took off for the vet as well. We practically had to carry her in and the vet took blood work and put her on IV fluids and said he would call me. Not long after he did call and the news was grave indeed. Never in his entire career as a vet had he seen a white blood cell count as high as hers. On top of that he had taken X-rays and saw she had an enormous amount of fluid in her right lung….240ccs worth. He had no idea what was wrong but if he had to guess he was thinking it was leukemia. I was devastated. Here we go again I thought….I am about to lose another one.

So what was her story? Here goes as far as I understand…..She originally was owned by a guy in Blanding Utah. This town was where my parents lived and where I had moved to Moab from. It is about an hour and a half south of Moab. He was called to duty in Iraq so left his young dog with family who passed her to more family then friends of family then friends of friends. That winter was especially brutal with snow falling constantly. There was at least 6 feet on the ground. Some how she took off from Blanding and ended up in the back yard of the animal control officer in a town 22 miles north called Monticello. Mind you this is the high desert and the elevation that she had traversed in the blinding snow was 7000 feet. There is a three day kill in San Juan County where Blanding and Monticello are located. He took pity on the young dog and called Moab who has a NO KILL policy. Though she was out of  Grand County and out of Moab city limits they agreed to take her in where she ended up in my grooming shop. When I adopted her she was nothing but skin and bones.

So here we are faced with her impending death. I told the vet to do everything he could and I would pray a lot. She was in ICU for two weeks and $1500.oo and after withdrawing yet more fluid from her lung he sent her home with heavy doses of antibiotics with a questioning look on his face. He declared her white blood cell count was still high but had lowered considerably and with prayers and diligent care felt she was fit to recover at home but he gave me a warning that it still could be cancer and to be prepared for her to die. That was over 3 years ago and she is the best little girl I could’ve ever brought home.

Now her story does not end there but for now I think I will leave you with that for this wonderful WHY-ME has colored my life in so many ways and has brought more joy with her existence than anyone I know.

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

2 thoughts on “Why Me?

  1. This is a heart-warming story and you are to be commended for your efforts to save Rainy. My wife and I have enjoyed looking at your photos. We used to have a dog that was a Weimaraner/Great Dane mix and your photos are reminiscent of the time we lived in Western Colorado with her. Thanks for the memories.

    • You are more than welcome my friend. I know how much that means to me when I see a dog that reminds me of one of mine that has come and gone. I like to think that they are on loan to us with the understanding that they can only be shared for a short time…..I count my blessings for every dog that has been “on loan” to me because I believe they really are just angels with fur.
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

