Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

AFISHinado’s Flying Fish Tour II

Leave a comment

As promised to many I am writing about the second flying fish tour I took with my friend Trudy while she visited here courtesy of our friends John and Karen.
Once again we boarded the Catallac, only this time it was to just be me and Trudy as Ron stayed home with my mother. It was fun watching us pull away from the island through Trudy’s eyes. It was dusk and it was beautiful.

John warned us the waters were murky and so the sightings would not be as plentiful as the night when Ron, my mother and I traveled. Trudy didn’t seem to mind. Lance, a great guy that works with John and Karen was the pilot this night and this was his first time piloting more or less completely on his own. I think he did great.

Just when I was beginning to wonder if we would see any flying fish at all we spotted one then another but there were no long flights and not the shear numbers we saw before. We even went to the spot where the sea lions had put on a show and there were none until finally Trudy spotted one off the bow. I let her be in charge of the flashlight because I had been recruited to help pass out the flashlights to the other passengers and even wore a bracelet as a reminder. But sadly it was a quiet night until……

John had the idea to get one of the guys to catch one in a net. We could see the fish swimming under our lights right by the boat but they were so quick. I knew the chances of actually catching one were slim to none. Then lo and behold John and Karen’s son caught one and I was able to get photos of the little guy. Trudy was thrilled however she declined at holding it because she and everyone else were complaining at the enormous stink arising from this sweet, jeweled fish. One of my little quirks is my smeller is not what it use to be so I didn’t see a problem. I could smell nothing but I was too busy taking photos to partake in holding it. One woman held it and frankly she looked like she wanted to hurl right there but the two young boys on the boat thought it was way too cool so they each got a turn before we tossed the scared fish back into the water.

What amazed me was the incredible strength these fish had in their tails which is what gets them above the water so their huge sail like fins could catch the wind. It took all the strength one had to hold onto the fish if he decided to smack his tail around.

So the night was once again incredible and I believe everyone got their monies worth. Trudy was actually enjoying the ride so much she wouldn’t have been disappointed if we never saw any fish at all but we not only saw them fly in the water but then got to see one up close and personal.

I have enjoyed these charters so much I went ahead a signed us up for a “sunset cruise” a few days later which I will share in my next blog post. It was nothing short of INCREDIBLE!!!!

I just thank John and Karen for giving people the opportunity to see the island in a different way and they are just so freaking cool about it.


Do not come to the island without taking a great and exciting ride on the “Catallac”.

Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

