Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Trudy’s Visit

Leave a comment

The welcoming committee

She is already trying to pick up strange men

After 7 years of not seeing my dear friend Trudy she arrived in Catalina on August 5th. She and I met in college in a Spanish class and we just hit it off. She became a history major and went on to teach middle school and I of course went on with my Biology degree. We both lived in Newport News Virginia but she lived a few miles away from me.

Actually she never even looked at anyone but hung out with me….The girls are back!!!

After she graduated and became employed her and her husband Troy decided to buy a new and bigger house for them and their three boys (Scooter, Dickie and Eric). I found a house in my neighborhood not a block away and they bought it. We imagined spending so much time together and we often did but life happens. She was working and I was working and to be frank I fell into a dark depression that took years to recover from. I found myself often hiding from friends and family but Trudy never gave up on me. The I moved to Utah and we rarely spoke.

Weighing her driving options here on the island

The most handsome boy she saw all week

Trudy said something funny…Rosie and I enjoyed the joke

One day last year while I was living with my parents taking care of them as my dad progressively got worse with his illness….She called me. Her dad had died a few months before, she and her family had survived a terrible cancer that was discovered in her youngest son, Eric and her mother was just diagnosed with stage 4 colon cancer. She had been going through a lot to say the least and while her mother moved in and is fighting her disease her husband decided he needed a break from the marriage…..Trudy needed a friend and I was finally strong enough to be there for her.
After months of talking on the phone I decided to have her come out to the island for a much needed break and that’s exactly what she did.

She fits right in here

She worked at making me smile

Getting ready for our flying fish tour

It was a wonderful week. I learned so much about my dear friend I didn’t know before (such as she is a fantastic cook) and she got to meet Ron, visit with my mother and enjoy Catalina. She was able to vent about her sorrow and we had fun fantasizing about what we want to be “when we grow up”. She learned to meditate and tried hypnosis for smoking and was able to share a bit with Ron. But mostly we just explored the island, went shopping and drank many margaritas not to mention we got to have our wicky wacked. At Luau Larry’s there is a drink called a wicky wack. If you order said drink you get a free straw hat that looks absolutely ridiculous on anyone who wears it. Needless to say there are many tourists out there on any given day that are sporting their trophy and all who live here know they just got their wicky wacked.
I took her on a flying fish cruise with the AFISHinado gang, went to the interior where she met Rosie and a herd of buffalo. We spent some days just exploring the island and doing lots of walking and soul searching. Friday night Trudy and my whole family went on a “sunset cruise” with the AFISHinado gang (which I will share in more detail in another post) and she treated us to her wonderful cooking night after night.
It was hard to say goodbye last night knowing her life is in such turmoil at home and to be honest it was SO GOOD spending time with my dear friend. I have moped around here like a lost puppy today and hope when she reads this she will know how much her visit meant to me. For all of you out there that are following my blog….you know you can visit anytime. This is a lovely place to fall back and regroup and to recharge.

She learned to knit for those lonely nights at home

Me and my favorite person ever

Thanking my mother for the trip
Reflecting on her future during a quiet moment

Getting ready for the sunset cruise

Apparently she liked it

As did I

Working on her golf strategy

Making this guy’s day!!!

Just got her wicky wacked!!

Is she adorable or what??

Can’t wait to have her back

Spending a moment together before her boat

So hard to say goodbye

I hate goodbyes

I am also so blessed. I was able to look at my life through Trudy’s eyes and even though I am going through some difficult times of my own I was able to see what a wonderful life I really do have. Sometimes when you are hit with one difficult event after another you lose sight of what is right in front of you. Thank you Trudy for opening my eyes again. I thank God and my mother and Ron everyday for the life we all share here and I will try to not take it for granted again…..but I am human.

The departing committee

My home that holds all that is dear to me

The Queen of her island castle

Love to all my friends out there

Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

