Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

A Town of Golf Carts

Leave a comment

Catalina Island is 22 miles long and 8 miles wide but the town of Avalon is approximately one square mile. There is a full time population of 4000 mostly living in the one square mile. The rest of the island is for conservation only. The wild life and plant life are very unique and are guarded very carefully. Meanwhile you have a town of residents driving mostly golf carts. To own a full size vehicle means you go on a waiting list that is approximately a 20 year wait. My challenge was to find an approved vehicle that could make it into the interior where my horse is located that is quite rugged. Hence the mini mini van or as Ron calls it The Buffalo Chaser……they don’t have much to worry about considering the vehicle tops out at 25 mph.

The Miles mini and the Yamaha tow cart

The Buffalo Chaser

But the reason for my post….the golf cart….the chosen vehicle used by most islanders. I have more or less grown up on Catalina so the golf carts were an overlooked phenomena until the fourth of July parade…..a parade of golf carts. It was freaking adorable.

The fabulous Trojan cheerleaders

USC Trojans Band….an island full of Trojan fans
pretty sporty

My other option for a vehicle….but they only come in manual transmissions….not for me

mini coups and smart cars are accepted vehicles

Any golf cart looks good with red, white and blue

The Avalon Princess golf chariot

A golf cart hot rod

We are all ready for the fourth of July festivities….notice Rainy’s bling

Not a fan of the fireworks

Island fireworks

I am now more aware of these cute little vehicles and I have also noticed the residents here are very creative with their golf carts to make them stand out. I even saw one the other day that had a hood ornament that you would normally only see on a Rolls Royce. So here are some photos Ron and I have taken of these creative little vehicles. We also have noted there are three “tow golf carts” that run to the aid of fallen golf carts.

Some creative golf carts

A tow golf cart

Now that worries me

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

