Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

A Goodbye Party

Leave a comment

My Dads circle garden
His headstone showing him watering the circle garden

We are just days away from moving and the realization is setting in for me at least that there are so many good people we will be leaving behind. My mother especially has lived in Blanding for many years and had built a life there with my father….a place that knew him as Tommy, a place he grew up in, with the same people he became adults with and a place that accepted my mother with loving kindness.

A gathering of friends


My daughter Jessie will be staying and caring for my mothers house until it sells….and everyone, including myself and my mother, are hoping it is she that buys the house.
Jessie decided to have a party for my mother in her home that she shared with my father and invited all her friends so that they may say goodbye to my mother before we leave on Wednesday.

My beautiful daughter Jessie

Jessie and David

Jessie and Gary

Jessie and Ron

I want to say our leaving isn’t goodbye but more of an Aloha. In the Hawaiian language there are no words for hello and goodbye. Instead they have the word Aloha that is hard to translate. What it essentially means is much like what the ocean does as it rolls in and out of the beach. You see the surf come in and then it rolls out but it always comes back. So no…our leaving is not goodbye but Aloha as we leave but will be back and then we leave again and then people come see us. We are but a mere 12 hours away by car. Not too bad.

Me, Richard and Noreen

Noreen and Effie

Georgia and Anna

Joanne, Kathy and Billie and of course Rainy Day

Louann and Alaska

George and Donna Holding a Cross stitch I worked on for them while caring for my father. They came by every single day last summer in my fathers final days

Lots of friends

Dale and Cherie with my mother

Alaska

Jessie, Alaska and Annie

So my beautiful daughter set up this wonderful gathering of friends and what a beautiful day it was for my mother as well as for me. There was so much love and well wishes for my mother and as I watched her as friend after friend came to wish her well I thought how blessed she has been to know such great people and to be so loved. I also realized that my mother is very lovable so I am sure her friends were thinking how blessed they were to have her in their lives.

There is a book by Mitch Albom titled “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” and I smiled because my mothers list would be much longer than that. I envisioned her in Heaven one day with a line that went back three city blocks of people she has known and loved and the lives she has touched.

Getting ready to go to the party

Georgia and Anna

Betty and Harold and Betty’s daughter

Shirley, Effie and Effie’s daughter

Sisters…..Kathy and Billie

Joanne

Nancy and Dale

David

Alaska

On her end she was speechless at all the well wishers that came and even more all the love and care Jessica (my daughter) took to bring this together for her. Here she is working almost every single day and yet found the time to make my parents dream home beautiful and to have so many wonderful treats to munch on. As much as my Dad hated crowds and parties as he got older I could feel him there and could feel his happiness at all the love my mother was receiving.

The love of my life

What an angel

For those of you that attended the party and are reading this blog…..THANK YOU!!! Thank you so much for coming. It meant so much to my mother and to me. Thank you for leaving your addresses so we can stay in touch and just know….with no reservations whatsoever….all of you are welcome to stay and visit us in Catalina ANYTIME. We mean this and would be disappointed if you didn’t come to say hello. The friendships my mother has forged with you are lifetime friendships and part of the legacy my father left for both her and I. You can never know what your coming yesterday meant to my mother. She is not one prone to tears and yet she shed many yesterday in shock at all the warmth and love she received.

Roux

Rainy Day

God Bless You All

Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

