Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

The Countdown Begins

Leave a comment

For six months my mother, Ron and I have waited and waited to move into our new house on Catalina Island. It has been long and a test of everyone’s patience. The contractors have taken a wee bit longer then we had anticipated so we have just waited. Its been a year of patience and waiting and I think its something I really needed to learn. I still have a long way to go but I am making an effort to try and take one day at a time and to try and be present in each moment but I won’t lie…..there are days when I am sporting some horns that everyone hides from.

I have always been a person on the move and I like it when I am moving forward. Retrograde motion and I do not get along however that too has been a course I have had to take upon occasion.

This time has given me an opportunity however to explore my creative side which I haven’t been able to do in quite sometime. Not only have I completed 5 Cross-stitches but I have worked on my photography and knitted a shawl and of course I have read and journaled quite a bit as I tried to manage my restlessness.

Well by hook or by crook we have to move on June 27th because we have people moving in our house so if the contractors are not done they will just have to work around us. I am ecstatic. At least I can enjoy the year round weather of 70’s, I can started going through my stuff…..stuff I am not sure I still have for I have lived out of boxes for a few years now. I am determined….if I cannot fit it in my home comfortably OUT it goes. Mind you that alone will be a daunting task because we are fitting three peoples homes into ONE 900 sq. ft. home. Lots of sacrificing will have to be made. Usually when I approach this type of task I go through things three times before I actually really make progress…..why in the world do we love our STUFF so much???? Its just stuff.

But in between all this sorting and sacrificing I can walk along the beach or into the interior. I can take paths that my grandmother and I use to do everyday. I can see me breathing in the sea air and finally letting go of so much stress, anxiety and tension as I can finally say goodbye to my past and look towards my future. What I must remind myself to do everyday…..no…every minute of everyday….is to breathe deep, stay in the moment, mindfulness and then and only then may I achieve some sort of peace.

The second week of July my new horse, Rose, will be arriving on the island and I am sooooo excited. She is beautiful and I look forward to our friendship. She will be a big part of my life. Since I was a little girl and was taught to ride Welsh Ponies on Catalina I have wanted to own and ride a horse that was mine and do that on Catalina. There were times in my life I gave on hopelessly on both of those dreams and here I am. How lucky am I??? So humbleness and thankfulness must be two more things I remind myself of everyday. This could never have happened without my mother and my husband. I am so blessed to have such wonderful people in my life.

Speaking of wonderful people I WILL miss very much my daughter and my friend Eileen and a slew of other people that have been apart of my life since I moved to Moab. In fact I shall miss Moab very much. In spite of the frigid winters and the scorching summers (its been well over 100 degrees for days now) Moab is a wonderful place to live. The hiking is abundant, the quirky people are abundant and it has been a great place to live as I healed from my former life.

So a new adventure begins which will be recorded in this blog….a journal of my life lessons of sorts. Thanks for sharing with me and God Bless.

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

