Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

F. G. Hochberg

Leave a comment

In a few days I am going to visit one of my most favorite people in the world……my uncle Dr. Eric Hochberg. The reason I am going is one its been way too long after a hell of a year to see him and two he is retiring from The Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History. Its a bitter sweet day for me because I have been running around his office and lab since I was a wee one….I cannot remember a time I was not running around there. I know this too may be bittersweet for him but he has a beautiful home with a beautiful wife Lena and his beautiful stepdaughter Adel and together they have a beautiful life.

One good thing about moving to Catalina is I will be much closer to him so I hope my visits can be every few months or more.

He has many talents. He is a world renowned scientist specializing in invertebrate zoology (especially Cephalopods and other fine creatures) but he also is one of the founders of the Nature Printing Society of America. He is an unbelievable artist and photographer and his works have been published and even exhibited in the Smithsonian.

http://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=5907169420605329459#editor/target=post;postID=6217635145984567594

However I didn’t realize he was the man he was to the world. To me he is so much more than all this….he is my uncle, my friend, a father and one of the true loves of my life.
I am so blessed that I get to be a part of this grand but sad celebration.
I like to think of this all as a new beginning to our relationship for I have been very remiss in staying in contact. I get wrapped up in my own misery and hide from the world, especially him, because I never want to have him worry.

He is the reason I became a biologist myself, why I love nature and hikes and to want to learn so desperately how to become a real photographer but his greatest wish for me beside my happiness is for me to be a writer. I have no idea how to start but as soon as I figure the whole thing out and stop being so damn scared my first book will be dedicated to him.

He is and has been the greatest influence in my life. All the good in me I feel came from him and I just cannot wait to see him and hug him and just sit and be a part of his days for a week.

So on Wednesday I will be climbing in my truck at 3 in the morning and will drive the 12-13 hours to his house and will relish the love and respite I get. I will keep you posted from his computer and will take lots of pictures.

I look forward to learning even more about this incredible man.

Lots of Love
Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

