Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Ruby Tuesday

Leave a comment

I apologize for not writing until now. My internet has been down and this is the first chance I have had since its been up.

I had the pleasure of babysitting a 10 week old Red Hound for a neighbor for a few days and boy did we have fun. She is absolutely adorable and a joy to be around. She was so scared and shy when she first came over but after some lovings and reassurance it wasn’t long before she was off and running. She especially loved Rainy (I am not sure the feeling was mutual). Rainy is a very sweet patient dog and she loves puppies. So played with Ruby and gently corrected her and disciplined her when she stepped out of line….which was a lot. Being a 10 week old puppy we had to really watch for puddles but in a few short days she was getting the idea that big girls potty outside and I would clap and praise when she did. Towards the end she was running for the door so she’s a smart girl.

Ron and I decided to take her on a hike and it was obviously her first. At the beginning I put her down and this little girl looked around kind of bewildered with furrowed brows then Rainy come thundering past her at the speed of light and Ruby was off too. She tried so hard to keep up with Rainy but would give up until Rainy would come back and then we would start all over again.

Rainy has decided to take a shine to digging here recently (she has always wanted to be an architect). So she would run up ahead then we would see a butt with red dirt flying as we passed her and she would take off again to find the next great digging project.

I watched Ruby as she studied Rainy and within a few short moments Ruby had learned how to sniff a trail, run as fast as she could and yes….she even learned to dig (which is probably not a good thing).
I was amazed at her willingness to learn and willingness to please but also for her ability to just be in the moment. She loved being alive and being with those that cared about her. She wanted to fit in and tried hard to keep up (I had to carry her the last little bit back to the truck because she was pooped).

She did not care how uncoordinated she was or that she was behind everyone or that her first dig didn’t get as far as Rainy’s dig. She was just thrilled for the opportunity to try and to hell with everything else.
I am famous for getting pissed at myself if I cannot do something perfect after trying it for the first time. I have a fear of failure obviously but I have limited myself so much to fun, new experiences because I am so afraid I will look stupid trying something or I will do it poorly. As an adult and a teacher I know that it takes awhile for one to get the hang of things but that things will improve with practice and patience however those are two things I have never afforded myself and I have missed out on some great adventures.
Ruby taught me to say “To hell with everyone else…..I may suck right now but I am having a good time!!”

So for all of you out there that have the same problem I do….be kind and patient with yourself and be like Ruby…..just have fun trying a new adventure and be in the moment.

Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

