Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Rose

Leave a comment

In my last post I mentioned I was getting a new Equine friend named Rose. I thought I would share some pictures of this little beauty queen. She is a four year old Missouri Foxtrotter. That’s what Penny and Prue are and if you have ever ridden one you will know when I say I could not imagine ever riding any other kind of horse. They have this lovely little gait called the Fox Trot and its so great you could literally sit in the saddle all day.

Currently she resides at the Double AA Farm in Anza California where she has been being trained by her trainer Hope Adams. As you have noticed she is a Buckskin which my other mare Prue was. For some reason I just think a Buckskin is the epitome of beauty on a horse…..maybe it was all those Gunsmoke episodes I saw as James Arness rode his huge Buckskin.

But what a beauty she is and gentle gentle. Its been so long since I have ridden a gentle horse this will be truly a dream come true. She and I will be best friends for years to come.
Anza has been experiencing some snow of late which Rose hates so I am excited to get her on the island where the balmy sea keesp the temperatures pleasant year round.

Hope has been so kind in taking pictures of her weekly and sending them on to me. I feel as if I know her already but when she arrives on the island it will be the first time we meet. I pray she likes me and that she will be happy on Catalina. The trip will be difficult for her because to get a horse on the island you have to load them on the barge that leaves Long Beach anywhere from 2-6 in the afternoon depending on the tides. It will be her first boat ride on the ocean then they will unload her on the island where she will be loaded onto a trailer to be driven into the interior to a place called Middle Ranch which ironically is the palace I first learned to ride when I stayed with the Propst family every summer until I moved to Greece. It feels like a full circle and I am beyond excited.
But that means she will have to say goodbye to her best friend pictured here, and to her family she has come to know and love in Anza.

So now you have met Rose. Once she arrives on the island after we FINALLY get there I will keep you posted on all of our adventures together.

Happy Trails
Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

