Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Bad News Bears

Leave a comment

Life teaches us many things. Sometimes the lessons are great and sometimes they just down right suck. Lord knows most of my life lessons were of the sucky kind. Jessie is facing that right now.
She spent the entire day yesterday looking for living quarters. The rent would be at least 1300.00+ a month and that’s with no dog. Her dog Roux and her are nearly inseparable. Living without her baby is not an option. The work situation is awesome. So she thought staying at a camp ground and in the meantime being on a waiting list for an apartment was do-able but last night she discovered that was not an option either. No dog, 25 bucks a night and 5 bucks for a 5 minute shower.
She called me last night feeling so defeated and cheated and frustrated and scared at the thought of living so far away from me. I felt so bad for her because I know how devastating that disappointment is.

It got me thinking about all the disappointments and frustrations I have faced over the years and I am amazed I am in such a good place mentally with all of it. Life has been teaching me patience and perhaps that is to be Jessie’s lesson as well. I wanted nothing more in this entire world than to have a horse and to live on Catalina Island since I was 2 years old. I had to wait over 40 years to have that dream realized. I had given up on all of it and resigned myself to a life without my dreams.
But dreams do come true just not always on our time schedule. I believe things happen in their own good time. Perhaps Jessie is not ready for this adventure in her life….perhaps she needs to learn more lessons to prepare her for a life on the island. I don’t know. What I do know is if its very important it WILL happen when you are ready.

In the meantime Jessie has her name on a waiting list and she can visit from time to time and thank God for blogs and face book and skype and all the other wonderful things we have now that I did not have when I was a child and was in Greece missing my Holy Trinity so much. I had to surrender to my life, accept it and just be patient. Through Jessie’s hard lessons I am learning (finally) some of the good lessons. I feel blessed and am so thankful for the life I am about to achieve. Its been a long hard road getting here. I also know that it won’t be all easy street….I am still responsible for my mother who struggles everyday with her disease. I know the disease is hereditary so who knows what life may have in mind for me. Maybe my hard lessons and hard knocks are not over but I am willing to face whatever I have to. IN the meantime I am going to enjoy my life in every way and count my many blessings.

Peace
Lisa

P.S. The reason I included these pictures of my girls Penny and Prudence is because I had to give them away because I could not take them to the island with me. It killed me and as I write this my eyes are welling up again. I am lucky because I have a new friend Rose who is coming out to live on the island but Penny and Prue will forever be in my heart. Just one more sacrifice I have had to make in my life…..in a long list of sacrifices…..that’s life!!

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

