Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Another Lesson from my Dog

Leave a comment

Today has been a day of accomplishments and disappointments. The house renovations in Catalina are going very very slow so Lord knows when we are finally on our way. Also I have come to the realization the two people I love so much may never get past their differences.
Its upsetting to me so I took the dogs for a hike. I have mine (Rainy the Weimaraner) and my daughters dog (Roux the Pitbull).
Roux and Rainy know each other very well however on most days they tolerate each other while both trying subtly to prove who is the “Bitch in Charge” or “Queen Bee”. They have had a few small squabbles in the past but for the most part they just stay in their separate corners and tolerate each other. However today I saw a shared joy between them that brought about a genuine joy at being in each others company…that shared love is a good hike.

I was kind of down when we started and just watching these two running around with big sloppy grins on their faces made me smile. There was no fighting, no jealousy….just fun in the sun.
I began to wonder if the two people I care so much about would ever be able to put aside their differences with their mutual love for me. Probably not and that’s okay. Even if they cannot be in the same room with each other it will be okay. I have been around dogs enough to know there are those times when two dogs just cannot get past their differences and never will be able to. I was always relieved if I could get the dogs in question to just ignore each other and go to their separate corners but sometimes even that couldn’t be achieved and that’s when you throw in the towel. In order to protect the innocent ones around them or to keep from others joining in on the fight (picking one side or the other) you just have to make sure they are never together in the same room or the same house.

I learned along time ago (a painful lesson….one I couldn’t comprehend) that not everyone likes me (I was young and foolish). One day I was talking to my counselor and she asked me if I liked everyone…of course I said no and then it dawned on me what she was trying to tell me…sometimes I  don’t like people because they rub me wrong, I don’t gel with their personality, I didn’t like their character or felt they had no integrity or because they did something to me that was unacceptable to me. I may be viewed by others that don’t like me in much the same way.

So back to the lesson I learned today from my puppy and my grandpuppy….sometimes two souls can find a balance around each other even if they don’t particularly like each other. Some souls may not care too much for each other but can over look their differences when a shared love of something bonds them together and sometimes two souls just cannot get past it in which case they need to learn to avoid each other to protect their loved ones around them.
This is a hard lesson to learn for me and I am sure for a lot of people but I have accepted the situation and surrendered to it. Life isn’t always a Hallmark Channel movie. But life is full of color and experiences and lessons that I would not trade for the world. I also would never trade my teachers of these hard lessons in all their many forms.

Enjoy your spring day no matter where you are and know that out there you are loved by somebody.

God Bless
Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

