Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Road Trip From Hell

Leave a comment

Last night at 6:00 my time (mountain) my husband Ron, my daughter Jessie and her boyfriend Alaska got in a 26 foot diesel truck while towing my pickup to drive to Long Beach to load the barge that goes to Catalina Island with 85% of our belongings. Its 11:31 my time and they are still not there. It has been a grueling journey as they have fought extreme blizzards and a very heavy truck going 25 mph up the mountains.
The tricky part of this journey wasn’t the weather necessarily but the relationship that Jessie and Ron have had up to this point. Its been sticky and volatile and just plain ugly at times but they have seemed to come to terms with each other and this journey was the test.
When I told Jessie I was moving to Catalina with Ron and my mother she panicked explaining she still has one foot in the womb. Now mind you she is 26 but we still haven’t cut the cord apparently.
She and I have always been close. I had her young and she and I have been through a ton of crap together. It hasn’t been easy nor fun but it is what it is and we are close.
Four months ago Jessie was informed due to her alcoholism she had the liver of an old man. She knew if she wanted to live she had to quit drinking. These four months have been an incredible challenge to her that she has faced head on and I am so proud of her. But her whole world and her friends revolved around drinking so not only has she had to give up the only coping mechanism she has ever known but she has slowly had to give up friends and a whole way of life. Needless to say she spends a great deal of time with my mother and I. So the thoughts of us leaving her behind was incomprehensible to her.
So she is determined to make it on Catalina Island with her boyfriend.
On the other side of things here is Ron who sees a train wreck of a woman that “drains her mother”. He hasn’t quite understood that I think Jessie and I drained each other and lifted each other over the years. I admit there have been times that I wished had a little more peace but that seemed unlikely as long as Jessie was in my life living her life the way she was. One of the huge benefits of moving to Catalina was separating Jessie and I. so imagine his horror when Jessie told us she was coming too. So its been ugly back and forth for years but as Jessie has tackled her alcoholism Ron began to see other changes as well.
So Ron was hell bent on making this trip and was hoping his daughters could go with him but they could not. I suggested Jessie and Alaska and I almost passed out when he said he thought it was a good idea.
So off they went. In the cab of a big truck they all climbed in together and they have been on the road ever since.
Well I just got word they have arrived so now they just have to unload the truck onto the barge then take my truck and swing by the cabinet makers and the tile place and THEN they get on the boat to go to the island. They will not get there until tonight so its been a long two days together but from all the many texts and reports throughout this long night all is well. They are all getting along and are staying strong for each other. As this journey progresses for them I will keep you updated on the goings ons and pass along the pictures they send to me.
Meanwhile Jessie and Alaska MUST find work and housing in three days as Ron gets the house renovations back on track so that we may actually be able to move by mid April…..however I am a realist…..things never go as planned. In fact Sheryl Crow sings in one of her songs “Life happens while you are making plans” and Murphy’s Law just loves Jessie and I so we shall see.

Til tomorrow I bid you all Adieu
Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

