Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Fleur-De-Lis

Leave a comment

Its been a few days since my last post. As I have mentioned before we are in the middle of moving so I have been pretty wrapped in that. However I did find time to do something I have wanted to do for a while now and that was get my second tattoo.
The picture I chose was a Fleur-de-lis with a calla lily in the background. One it is an old french royalty sign but more importantly it signifies such strong women such as Mary Magdalene and her daughter Sarah. It also is the sign of Joan of Arc and Marie Antoinette.

The colors also are important to me. The indigo on the one side of the Fleur-de-lis represents the third eye chakra, the one in the middle of your forehead, which is symbolic of ones intuition, their physic abilities, their relationship with the spirit world and ones higher self. This is that sixth sense if you will. The one that raises all those red flags when you are in a relationship with someone or if you have a “bad feeling” about something. These women I have mentioned above followed their intuitions and stuck to what they believed in no matter the consequences.
The sky blue on the other side and on the flower itself represents your throat chakra or “your voice”. These women had a voice and they were not afraid to use it. This is to remind me I too have a voice….one I should use far more than I have in the past. I have spent my life being silent to what is important to me, my feelings and my opinions. I am trying very hard to change that so this reminder may help.
The green represents the heart chakra. Perhaps my heart has been too open to others. I think in reality my heart has been closed to myself and I need to change that as well. I have been told I can be cold and aloof. In actuality its a defense mechanism because for most of my life loving others just meant a lot of pain for me.

The yellow stands for the solar plexus chakra which is the seat of your ego, your outlook about yourself and the source of your goals. Its to remind me to love myself, reach for my goals that I have so often set aside to make way for others and to stop listening to that screechy whiny voice that is my ego. It never has anything good to say about me or my feelings.
The calla lily symbolizes chastity and purity to the early Christians but represented lust and sexuality to the Romans. Mary Magdalene is often depicted in paintings holding a calla lily. I think its symbolic of “less is more”. Its such a graceful and elegant flower in its simplicity but its so divinely feminine.
So that is the story of my tattoo. Its feeling better everyday. The tattoo’s artists name is Mike Newlander and he is a freaking tattoo God!! What an artist. He is located in downtown Moab so if you are ever this way and feel a tattoo coming on make an appointment with him.

This was when I was told how much it was gonna hurt

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

