Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Time

Leave a comment

I hate when I get wrapped up in that “restless” feeling. It seems I have had to battle that feeling quite a bit this last year. I spent the summer away from my “life” while I took care of my parents. I would get frustrated and lonely and I was terribly homesick. Then I would realize things were temporary for me….this was not permanent however my escape would be my fathers death and that was always a slap in the face for me. I realized not only was I working on patience but learning to be present in the moment I was in….now.

Eckhart Tolle wrote “The present moment is as it is. Always. Can you let it be?” So often we as a culture and of course speaking for myself are always looking for the future and regretting our past. The only time that you can control is the present. The only time that is guaranteed is Now. I began to imagine just living in the moment and a tremendous weight was lifted off of me. I recommend doing this as often as you can. The pressure of the unknown, of future events and of all past regrets is simply let go. All of a sudden I find a peace that just washes over me and I begin to find joy in the mundane tasks that I am doing.
So often I hurry through my day, rushing towards that next chore or even just dreading it. Once I began to work on being in the Now I began to find the little things I was doing peaceful and satisfying. For instance I HATE to cook. One, its a lot of pressure that culminates in others judging you….whether the meal was good or bad. Plus I spend the entire time thinking about all the other stuff I have to do or just simply wishing I was some where else. The other night I deliberately chose to stay in the moment and I slowly realized cooking was relaxing and peaceful. I took time to add this spice or that and found myself looking through the pantry trying to decide on other flavors that might add to the meal. I put on my Ipod and listened to my Gregorian Chants, music I happen to love and find focus in. I took my time not worrying about all the other crap and I really had a great time. It ended with everyone telling me what a great meal it was and I found satisfaction in that as well.

Marcus Aurelius (121-180 C.E.) wrote in his meditations “Time is like a river made up of the events which happen, and a violent stream; for as soon as a thing has been seen, it is carried away, and another comes in its place, and this will be carried away too.”

I have raced the clock cursing the universe or man for its concept of time and how precious little of it there was for me. As I practice being in the present moment time is losing its grip on me. One of the best defenses against a strong enemy is to no longer fear it. When you can accomplish that your enemy then no longer has any power over you. For me that is time. It is slowly losing the battle to age me and weigh me down. I feel younger, lighter and at peace. Don’t get me wrong….this is a choice that I must make every minute of everyday but I imagine in time this too will get easier.
So my thoughts to you today is to “stop and smell the flowers” and stay present in each moment you have. You will find that these moments are indeed precious and a gift….one to be honored and cherished.

Have a lovely moment each and every moment you are present in today
Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

