Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Goodbyes

Leave a comment

I have missed writing for a few days because as we approach the date of our move things are becoming more and more hectic. Yesterday I groomed the last clients of the Holistic Pet Grooming Studio. Its funny but Hershey was my very first customer and he ended up being my last.

This is the second grooming business I have had to shut down. The first was my business Precious They Be Grooming I had for years in Gainesville Virginia during the nineties at a small Veterinary Hospital run by a wonderful vet, Dr. Scott Dove. I had just moved my business to my home so I would be more available to my daughter when my husband at the time finally lost the last bit of reason and went insane. I lost everything and I remember how painful it was to say goodbye to so many wonderful friends and clients.
I thought this time it wouldn’t be as bad because I hadn’t been in business near as long as my first business but secondly I thought I was prepared emotionally. But come to find out it hurts just as much this time as well.

This is Frannie and Zoe. Frannie is the one standing up. She and her owner opened their home to Zoe last year who was a rescue and in very sorry shape. She has blossomed under the love and care of Holly and Frannie. It has been a joy for me as her groomer to watch her put on weight, see her skin sores heal and watch her sweet personality come out as she began to understand she was loved in this world and that the world is not always a cold, harsh, lonely, sad and painful place.

Not only am I having to say goodbye to some wonderful four legged friends but also to my sweet Eileen. She has worked for me over a year….almost two…..and she has been best friend as well. She came with me to Catalina when I got married and was my maid of honor and we see each other almost daily. This will be a hard thing for her and I. Luckily her dog Annie will help her when I am gone. She gets “visitation” one night and two days a week now which will ease the loneliness…..dogs are absolutely the best for that sort of thing.
It seems I have spent my life saying goodbye to ones who are dear to me but I had an epiphany the other day….instead of being sad at having to say goodbye I am learning to be grateful for all the wonderful souls I have met and have come to know in all of my travels. 
I know Eileen will be out to see us in August for her birthday…..the boat ride to Catalina is free on your birthday and what better way to spend your special days but with people who love you on an island off the coast of Southern California?
Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

