Rainy Day

The Life and Times of a Weimaraner

Lessons From My Dog

Leave a comment

I have been getting over the flu from hell. It has left me absolutely worthless. So what little energy I have had seemed to disappear completely. I sat in my rocker leaning against my heating pad and began to read a bit as I try to do daily. In Stillness Speaks Eckhart Tolle writes “The playfulness and joy of a dog, its unconditional love and readiness to celebrate life at any moment often contrast sharply with the inner state of the dog’s owner-depressed, anxious, burdened by problems, lost in thought, not present in the only place and only time there is: Here and Now. One wonders: living with this person, how does the dog manage to remain so sane, so joyous?”

I considered what I had read for sometime and have come to the conclusion my dog Rainy is a genius and I need to pay attention to the lessons she tries to teach me everyday.
Lesson #1: Sleep when you are tired and play when you are not. She loves to sleep in then she gets up and does a few great yoga stretches and eats, potties then goes back to bed until play time starts.
Lesson #2: Patience, patience, patience. She has an abundance of it. She has to be so patient when her dad tells her they are going for a ride, puts her “necklace” on, gets her all worked up then goes and brushes his teeth, takes his vitamins, makes a list or two, handles a few calls and anything else that grabs his attention. She sticks right by him lest he forgets but always waits patiently. Patience is also required as she does her daily vigil by the squirrel hole. Once we actually saw the tail sticking out of the hole and more than a few times the squirrel has given her a piece of her mind. So patience is extremely important.
Lesson #3: So what if you are a few pounds overweight….she thinks she is beautiful and to be honest she is. Every girl needs a few extra pounds to keep the chill at bay during the winter and summer is for running it off. Ginger snaps are worth every pound…..what would life be without the beloved ginger snaps she shares with her dad?
Lesson #4: Life is about running. You cannot have too many balls to chase or too many hikes to race. Life is meant to be lived joyfully and fully.
So love yourself, tell yourself you are the beautiful goddess you know you are, be patient with your loved ones or goals you hold onto. Sleep deeply with a clear conscience and greet each day with joy in your heart and the spirit to run and laugh and love.
Even her favorite boyfriend Fred (yes she has many because the boys just LOVE her) attacks a good hike with jubilation.

Love life my friends and notice the lessons that are being taught to you from all your teachers.
Lisa

Author: sunnyday1266

My name is Rev. Lisa "sunny" Day. I became an Ordained Minister of Walking Prayer through the teachings of The Center for Sacred Studies and The Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This blog is my simple writing of my spiritual journey and my practices. I hope I am never done learning all that the universe has to teach me. As I gather wisdom I merely share them with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. Walk in Beauty Sunny

Leave a Reply

